The Cascades

On Monday, we hiked up to the Cascades in Giles County. The drive alone out to Giles is therapeutic. It’s beautiful out there and it reminds me of my youth. I’ve hiked the Cascades so many times I swear I can do it with my eyes closed and my hands tied behind my back. I used to get sick of it but now that I get to go so infrequently it is really enjoyable.

20111229-165256.jpg

My dad loves hiking and seizing the day and spending time with his daughters so it was a great day for him. He hiked Mount Kilimanjaro (bad ass!) last fall and we’re currently planning a trip to Machu Picchu this summer.

Maggie and Annie came along as well. So happy to spend quality time with them.

20111229-165326.jpg

I was lucky to grow up in an area that has so much great hiking. The AT runs close by and the mountains are beautiful.

EB

Leave a Reply

