Buen Camino

C and I went to the movies tonight and saw The Way.



The story is about a father whose son dies while he is hiking El Camino de Santiago de Compostela. The father picks up where his son left off and continues the walk for him. El Camino de Santiago is a pilgrimage that Christians (as well people from many religious backgrounds and life journeys) take from the Pyrenees in France to Santiago de Compostela in Galicia in the northwest part of Spain. It is believed that the apostle James is buried there in Santiago de Compostela. The trek is ~700 kilometers depending on the route you take.

The movie was phenomenal. I could hardly contain myself throughout. My heart leaped out of my chest every time they showed the Spanish landscape. It made me miss España and traveling in Europe so much!

I would love to go back to Spain and do all or part of the Camino. I have never been to the north of Spain, only to Barcelona. I’d love to go to Bilbao, León, and Galicia. I hear Galicia is gorgeous, very green. People speak a blend of spanish and portuguese!

Buen Camino,

EB

One thought on “Buen Camino

Leave a Reply

