Hunger Games… Over It!

If you talked to me about a month ago, I was harping on the first book of the Hunger Games. I thought it was great! The post-apocolyptic theme is really intriguing and I love that Katniss Everdeen is from Appalachia. I thought the characters were interesting. There was just enough love story but it was by no means the center of the plot. The book was engaging, a good blend of action and character development. I couldn’t read it fast enough.

After enjoying the first so much, I had high hopes for the others. The second book, Catching Fire, was OK… I did love the ending. The third book, Mockingjay, was the worst. There were some cool concepts, but I really couldn’t follow what was happening. There were too many new characters being introduced. The book kept drawing on and on. Also, the love triangle between Katniss, Gale, and Peeta is resolved way too abruptly. I think I would have been happiest if Suzanne Collins had ended them after the first! I know so many people love these books right now and I thought I was going to feel the same way!

Even though I’m disappointed about how the series ended, I’m still very excited for this:

 

May the odds be ever in your favor…

EB

One thought on “Hunger Games… Over It!

  1. I’ve heard from several people who weren’t happy with how the series ended. Personally I think the way that the series ended was the most realistic ending that there could have been for Katniss. I think it took a lot to write the realistic ending rather than trying to force the ‘super happy ending’ that many people tend to use in fiction even though it is completely unrealistic based upon the entirety of the story.

Leave a Reply

