Banned Books Week

Today is the start of Banned Books Week! September 24th – October 1st. Woohoo!

In honor of Banned Books Week, I thought I should list my favorite banned books. 🙂

  • Slaughterhouse Five by Kurt Vonnegut
  • Their Eyes Were Watching God by Zora Neale Hurston
  • Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky
  • Harry Potter by JK Rowling

(This hardly counts as a banned book… in my book. I really can’t understand why anyone would ban this?)

What are your favorite banned books?

Stick it to the man!

EB

2 thoughts on “Banned Books Week

  1. Who banned Harry Potter? Their Eyes Were Watching God is one of my all-time favorites. I read it in multiple English classes and wrote several papers on it, both in high school and college. It amazes me how society still seeks to limit information. Most of the time, it backfires because banned information is that much more sought after. Banned anything (movies, books, websites, etc.) reinforces that ideas are powerful and can make a difference.

Leave a Reply

