The Knit Graffiti Movement

Today after work I was walking to meet a friend for coffee and in the midst of drab northern Virginia I found some Knit Graffiti!

Knit Graffiti in NoVa

Knit Graffiti in NoVa

Knit Graffiti (or Yarn Bombing) has been taking the hipster world by storm lately, but this was the first time I’d seen it in real life. Apparently it’s a movement started by a woman in Texas who was frustrated by so many unfinished knitting projects. She uses knitting as an outlet to express her creativity in a feminine, grandmotherly way. What I saw today was just a tiny bit of it. The stuff these people are doing is out of control.

Yarn Bombing

Yarn Bombing

Knitted Bike

Knitted Bike

Knit Bus

Knit Bust

Pretty great, huh? I can’t imagine how long it takes to do some of it. I think I like that it serves no purpose, but it just looks awesome.

Do you knit? I know I always start projects (and they’re all scarves, I’ve never had the patience to try to make anything else) each winter but I lose interest very quickly and rarely finish anything. I bet I have about twenty different types of yarn. Maybe it’s time to join the knitting revolution.

EB

One thought on “The Knit Graffiti Movement

Leave a Reply

