Unexpected Sequel

Have you read the book Blue Like Jazz by Donald Miller? I read this while I was in high school and I really enjoyed the book. My sister Katie was reading it, so I borrowed it from her. Miller writes about his experiences pursuing a Christian lifestyle and holding Christian values among non-Christians. He shares his thoughts and ideas on how Jesus and Christianity translate to the modern world. He takes a few courses at Reed College in Oregon which is where most of the book takes place. I thought the whole things was fresh and inspiring as an 18-year-old.

Blue Like Jazz by Donald Miller

Blue Like Jazz by Donald Miller

“I never liked jazz music because jazz music doesn’t resolve. . . . I used to not like God because God didn’t resolve.”

I got his new book A Million Miles in a Thousand Years a couple weeks ago thinking I would really like it.

A Million Miles in a Thousand Years by Donald MIller

A Million Miles in a Thousand Years by Donald MIller

“Somehow we realize that great stories are told in conflict, but we are unwilling to embrace the potential greatness of the story we are actually in. We think God is unjust, rather than a master storyteller.”

Now, I wouldn’t say that I disliked it, it just wasn’t what I was expecting. The book is a memoir of his life after Blue Like Jazz. He was approached by film writers who wanted to turn his book into a movie. The writers essentially picked apart his story and told him it wasn’t good enough as it was. They wanted to enhance his story in order to tell a better one. Stories are the theme throughout the book. What kind of story is your life telling? If someone where to write a book or make a movie of your life, what would it look like? Donald Miller finally realizes he needs something to kick start his story again. He travels to Peru where he hikes Machu Picchu (google image Machu Picchu… I need to go there!). He finds his father who he hasn’t seen in 30 years and flies to meet him. And he bikes from LA to DC with a group of people with similar struggles. He makes his story happen. The book was less about religion and more about his personal experience and struggle.  It was a surprising read after feeling so uplifted by Blue Like Jazz (which, granted, was 7 years ago, I could’ve miss understood everything about Blue Like Jazz.) I wish I could say that I really enjoyed his most recent book, but I kept comparing it to his earlier one. I’ll read Searching For God Knows What soon (also by Donald Miller) and let ya know what I think.

EB

Leave a Reply

