Jaleo

Hello, Hello! Hope you had a nice weekend! C and I kicked it off right… he came a picked (Carolyn and) me up from work on Friday afternoon. Soon after we went to Jaleo in Crystal City (aka Concrete City or the Emerald City). Jaleo is a Spanish tapas restaurant created by chef Jose Andres. It is delish!  It’s much nicer than your average tapas bar in Spain but the tapas seemed pretty authentic to me. I didn’t have my camera so I had C take pictures on his phone. We started the meal with 2 glasses of sangria.

Sangria

Sangria

I also love tinto de verano, which is vino tinto mixed with sprite… so fresca for the summer!

We had some Spanish classics… like the Patatas Bravas. Really they are just fried potatoes with aioli and tomato sauce. I like to call them Brave Potatoes. 🙂

Patatas Bravas

Patatas Bravas

Embutidos, the general term for salchichas. Yummy! We had this allll the time in Spain. Another classic.

Embutidos

Embutidos

Gambas al Ajillo – these were eaten before we got a chance to take a photo. They were delicious, but we both said we might not order them again.

Gambas al Ajillo

Gambas al Ajillo

Fried calamari! This has become pretty common in the US, but they are a Spanish favorite too. In Madrid, they eat them on sandwiches!

Calamari

Calamari

C tried the octopus… creepy looking huh? I opted out. I tried it in Spain. A little too chewy for my taste!

Pulpo

Pulpo

Dates wrapped in bacon! I love bacon! These were even deep fried which was frighteningly good. I never had these while I was in Spain but, boy, I was I had!

Dates wrapped in Bacon

Dates wrapped in Bacon

EB

Leave a Reply

