The Help

Have you read the book The Help by Kathryn Stockett? I read it this past winter and I really enjoyed it. If you haven’t read it you really should. It’s set in the 1960s and it’s about the young white women who lives in Jackson, Mississippi and the black women who work in their homes. Skeeter, one of the young white women, doesn’t fit in with her friends who have already settled down and started families. She starts collecting the stories of the black women who work as help in each of these families’ homes. The story is so inspirational. The author intertwines a lot of historical details about other things that are happening in the 1960s that really set the scene well. My mom is reading this now and I am excited to hear her opinions on it as a woman who grew up in the south during this time.

The Help by Kathryn Stockett

The Help By Kathryn Stockett

The Help Movie comes out on August 11th and I can’t wait to see it.  Based on the trailer it looks like it’s really well done! I think Emma Stone is just the right person to play Skeeter. With movies based on books, I always like to read the book first if I can.

Speaking of, HARRY POTTER and the Deathly Hallows Part II comes out at midnight tonight! I won’t be one of the crazies to go see it at midnight (anyone who knows me knows that I am guaranteed to fall asleep during a movie that starts after 7pm). I’m planning to go see it with Carolyn on Sunday 🙂  I hate to see this series end, although I’m glad that they have been able to maintain the integrity of the books and keep the same cast in the movies all along. It feels like my childhood is ending if there are no more Harry Potter books or movies to enjoy!

Harry Potter

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part II

EB

Leave a Reply

